Z3 Upgrades

nordybmw

I am new to BMWs. I bought a 2002 roadster (3.0) and love the performance and handling. I have relaced the wheels with lightweight OZ (16lb) puppies. Really helps the acceleration....but I want to tinker more. Eyeing Dinan cold air intake, performance chip and free flow exhast. Told that I need to stay with Dinan to support Mfg warrant (100k).....(TRUE ?)

Question....any experience with these parts...good/bad.

Does the Dinan exhast provide enought of a sporty sound to really enjoy the beauty of this free reving 6 ! If not what is a good solution between a full out
"rice rocket" (i.e annoying) and the muted sound of the standard exhast.

Wanted to buy an "M" but 3 kids in college...so I am screwed. [:(]

Appreciate any feedback.

Nordy

considering Dinan

Hi Nordy -

I think I am the "newest" upgrader in regards to Dinan - being just a few weeks removed. Please find my thread listed on this board a couple of weeks ago. i've also got many photos attached to my profile.

Bottom-line ... awesome!
no rice-burning here. a deep, low growl best describes the sound of the Dinan exhaust. I did Stage 3 and all that goes along with that level.

Welcome to the club!

[driving2]

nordybmw

Dinan5i

I really appreciate your feedback....(especially on the Dinan free flow exhast). I will research past threads and pick up the data.

Your Bimmer in Gray looks to be one "sweet" ride....enjoy !

Thanks again for your response.

Big Daddy

I have a 98 M roadster with Dinan CPU upgrades, Dinan Stage II suspension/Koni adjustables, Dinan Strut Bar, and I am really happy with them all. I run the stock exhaust, but have known other M roadster owners using the Dinan exhaust with no complaints.

nordybmw

Dinan5i-

Got the work done...cold air, stage 3, Throttle body, Free flow exhaust (does sound great) and steptronic software. The little Z gets up and goes ! (need a radar detector now !!).